

# The Louisiana Supreme Court **NEWS**

400 Royal Street Suite 1190 • New Orleans, LA 70130-8101 504-310-2550 • www.lasc.org



Contact:

Trina S. Vincent 504-310-2590

October 10, 2022

**FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE** 

# [PHOTOS ATTACHED]

# LOUISIANA JUDICIAL ASSOCIATIONS ANNOUNCE 2022 OFFICERS

**New Orleans, LA** – At general meetings held during the 2022 Fall Judges Conference, officers were elected by the membership of judicial associations representing different levels of courts in Louisiana. The officers are as follows:

## **CONFERENCE OF COURT OF APPEAL JUDGES**

Chair through 12/31/2022: Chief Judge Milton Moore, 2nd Circuit Court of Appeal (Retires 12/31/2022)

Chair for 2023: Chief Judge Frances Pitman, 2nd Circuit Court of Appeal (Becomes Chief Judge 1/1/2023)

Vice-Chair through 12/31/2022: Chief Judge Sylvia Cooks, 3rd Circuit Court of Appeal (*Retires 12/31/2022*)

Vice-Chair for 2023: Chief Judge Elizabeth Pickett, 3<sup>rd</sup> Circuit Court of Appeal (Becomes Chief Judge 1/1/2023)

Secretary-Treasurer: Judge Jude Gravois, 5th Circuit Court of Appeal

# LOUISIANA DISTRICT JUDGES ASSOCIATION

President: Judge Patricia Koch, 9th Judicial District Court

First Vice President: Chief Judge Timothy Marcel, 29th Judicial District Court

Second Vice President: Chief Judge Lala Sylvester, 10<sup>th</sup> Judicial District Court

Secretary: Judge Lee Faulkner, 24th Judicial District Court

Treasurer: Chief Judge Robin Pittman, Orleans Criminal District Court

Immediate Past President: Judge Scott U. Schlegel, 24th Judicial District Court

The Louisiana District Judges Association is a professional nonprofit corporation established in 1981. All Louisiana District Judges with general jurisdiction and Judges of Juvenile and Family Courts are eligible for membership. The mission of the LDJA includes the administration of justice, representation of the interests of judges, and the professional development of its membership to provide the greatest access to fair, just, and responsive trial courts. The newly elected officers will serve from October 4, 2022 through October 5, 2023.

# LOUISIANA CITY COURT JUDGES ASSOCIATION

President: Judge Brian Barber, Shreveport City Court

1st Vice President: Judge Theodore "Trey" Haik III, New Iberia City Court

2nd Vice President: Chief Judge Veronica Henry, New Orleans First City Court

Secretary: Judge Matthew Hagen, Houma City Court

Treasurer: Judge Erin Wiley Lanoux, Ascension Parish Court

Immediate Past President – Judge Raylyn Beevers, 2<sup>nd</sup> Parish Court of Jefferson

The officers will serve one-year terms.

## LOUISIANA COUNCIL OF JUVENILE AND FAMILY COURT JUDGES

President: Judge Barron Burmaster, Jefferson Juvenile Court

Vice President: Judge Jefferson "Jeff" Joyce, Monroe City Court

Secretary: Judge Desiree Duhon Dyess, 10th JDC

Treasurer: Judge Theodore "Trey" Haik III, New Iberia City Court

### RETIRED JUDGES ASSOCIATION

The Retired Judges Association elects new officers in the spring of 2023. The following officers will continue in service until that time.

President: Judge Curtis Calloway (Ret., 19th JDC)

Vice President: Judge Ronald Cox (Ret., 15th JDC)

Secretary: Judge Luke LaVergne (Ret., East Baton Rouge Family Court)